Country Living





Country Living

Country - Estates - Simple Life - Country Home

Trails - Adventure - Danishly - City House






Homeward Bound; Or, The Chase

RRP $18.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

In one respect, this book is a parallel to Franklin's well-known apologue of the hatter and his sign. It was commenced with a sole view to exhibit the present state of society in the United States, through the agency, in part, of a set of characters with different peculiarities, who had freshly arrived from Europe, and to whom the distinctive features of the country would be apt to present themselves with greater force, than to those who had never lived beyond the influence of the things portrayed. By the original plan, the work was to open at the threshold of the country, or with the arrival of the travellers at Sandy Hook, from which point the tale was to have been carried regularly forward to its conclusion. But a consultation with others has left little more of this plan than the hatter's friends left of his sign. As a vessel was introduced in the first chapter, the cry was for "more ship," until the work has become "all ship;" it actually closing at, or near, the spot where it was originally intended it should commence. Owing to this diversion from the author's design--a design that lay at the bottom of all his projects--a necessity has been created of running the tale through two separate works, or of making a hurried and insufficient conclusion. The former scheme has, consequently, been adopted.


Going Home

RRP $13.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

This is the story of William Johnson a migrant from Jamaica, who went to England in the 1950s. It was here that he was first subjected to racism. He found that the culture he had left behind was vastly different to the country he would now be living in. William along with countless other young migrants from the Caribbean expected to be here for no more than five years before being able to return home with money they had saved from working in England. Sadly this never happened. Not only for William but for many thousands more. 'Going Home' takes us on a journey from Jamaica to England, and a life spent longing to return home. A rollercoaster of emotions ensue.


Going Home

RRP $19.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

Book 1 of The Survivalist Series

If society collapsed, could you survive?

When Morgan Carter's car breaks down 250 miles from his home, he figures his weekend plans are ruined. But things are about to get much, much worse: the country's power grid has collapsed. There is no electricity, no running water, no Internet, and no way to know when normalcy will be restored?if it ever will be. An avid survivalist, Morgan takes to the road with his prepper pack on his back.

During the grueling trek from Tallahassee to his home in Lake County, chaos threatens his every step but Morgan is hell-bent on getting home to his wife and daughters?and he'll do whatever it takes to make that happen.

Fans of James Wesley Rawles, William R. Forstchen's One Second After, and The End by G. Michael Hopf will revel in A. American's apocalyptic tale.


Country Music Sources

RRP $384.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

This book provides information on some 14,500 recordings of 3,500 old-time folk and country songs recorded between 1921 and 1942. Each performance receives a full citation, including the date and place of recording, original and variant artist, and title credits. Whenever possible, songs are traced back to their original lyricists and composers or to major published and unpublished folksong collections. Entries are grouped into broad subject categories: ballads, popular songs, religious songs, and instrumentals.

Based on 35 years of research in public and private collections of recordings, broadsides, pamphlets, and sheet music, this valuable resource allows a fresh understanding of pre-World War II country music and its intricate connections to the blues, old world folk music, and the broad spectrum of American popular song.


A Home For Teasel

RRP $17.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

Gwen has wanted a pony for as long as she can remember, but there's no way her parents can afford one. And with a demanding older sister, and younger twin brothers, one with chronic asthma, sometimes what Gwen wants gets forgotten.

So Gwen does odd jobs around the neighbourhood - anything that will help add a few pennies to her pony fund. When Gwen is asked to help an elderly neighbour, she can't believe it when she discovers Mrs Tilney owns a pony that needs looking after too! Spending time with Teasel is everything Gwen has dreamed of and they soon share an unbreakable bond. But then Mrs Tilney has a stroke, and everything gets turned upside down. Mrs Tilney moves into residential care and Teasel is packed off to stables far away.

Will Gwen ever see her again? Can they find a way back to each other?



Search

Country Living Articles

Country Estates Simple Life Country Home
Trails Adventure Danishly City House

Country Living Books

Country Estates Simple Life Country Home
Trails Adventure Danishly City House

Country Living